Setting the Closing Dateallows you to 'close the books' and ensure that reports for previous periods will not change. Closing protects Monies, Charges, Transactions, Deposits, and Refunds. Once a particular date is closed, it is no longer possible to delete or modify any of these items.
So what do you do if you made a mistake?
Posted Money – To change money that has been posted and closed you will have to put a refund against that money in the current period.
Charges - Closed charges may be reversed. Any charge that is reversed will automatically have all of its transactions reversed.
- This reversal will keep the charge on the books for the original date that it was posted and will post a negative charge for the current post date that offsets the original.
- To do this, select the Charge (in the Transactions screen) right-click Reverse Charge. This will show that charge line with a strikethrough. (see screenshot)
- Once the charges are reversed, the transactions will also be automatically reversed. The money will go back to the original payment which can then be re-posted. The negative and positive transactions will be on the current period and offset each other.
- You will then have the options (from the right-click menu) to
- 1) Unreverse Charge (which will reverse your reversal) or
- 2) Clone Reversed Charge (this will clone the Charge and put it in but with today as the post date. Now this "new" charge is not behind the close and can be edited if needed. (see screenshot)
Transactions – Closed transactions may not be deleted or edited, so you will have to enter a negative transaction to cancel one out.
Refunds – Closed refunds may be undone by entering negative refund amounts.
Before you close you need to be sure that you are certain that you want to close. Have you booked all charges and transactions that you need to for the time period you are about to close? You will still be able to enter charges for closed visits but the Post Date for those charges will be in the current period.
To set the Close Date, navigate to the Administration menu and select Advance Close Date. You will then be prompted to set the new close date. This will log everyone off of Fusion Enterprise and set the new close date. The Close Datecan be set to any value greater than the current close date and earlier than today.
*One item to note is that it is not possible to ever delete a non-treatment visit that is behind a close that has had charges entered on it. The need for this should arise very rarely if ever.
Here is a list of reports that you might want to look over before initiating the close each month. Some things may still need to be corrected later, but you'll catch a majority on these reports. Keep in mind that the types of errors you are looking for, for now, should be no different than errors you were checking for before enabling Closing.
1. Posting | Base: Transactions. Use this report to look for any obvious anomalies in any column.
2. Posting | Base: Posted Money. Check this report to ensure that all carrier payments have been applied.
3. Billing | Medicare Cap Tracking. This report will show when you need to add KX Date to a patient's case.
4. Billing | Base: Charges. Check this report for evals with more than one unit, Medicare patients whose charges don't have GP modifiers, etc.