A role is a group of permissions that have been assigned a name. Each user will be assigned one or more roles and will receive permissions within these roles.
Permissions are divided into three sections: Module Permissions, Report Access, and Clinic Access.
Module permissions determine which screens and which information within those screens the user is able to view and edit. Some of the permissions cover a broad area, such as those granting access to the Schedule or the Case screens. We call these 'gateway' permissions, as they ‘open the gate’ into a screen. Other permissions have a much narrower focus and control what a user is able to do within the screen. For example, a user can have access to the Case screen but then is only able to edit certain areas, like a phone number but nothing else.
Every report is listed within the Report Access section, and you can determine which reports a user is able to run.
This is a list of clinics the user is able to see. The clinic permission on its own does nothing but combined with the permissions from the other two sections defines a complete permission set. While the View Case permission in the Module Permission area would give someone permission to view a patient case, the Clinic Access permission would determine which cases the user could see (based on the Clinic to which that patient is assigned).
NOTE: Therapists must be associated (linked) to a clinic(s). This is done under Administration > General Information > Users/Therapists > Clinic Therapists.